1. shahinit.mail@gmail.com : dhaka24 :
  2. arifturag@gmail.com : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
  3. sasujan83@gmail.com : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
বুধবার, ২৫ নভেম্বর ২০২০, ০৭:৪৫ পূর্বাহ্ন

India clinches maiden title shocking Bangladesh 2-1 in final

Reporter Name
  • প্রকাশিত | সোমবার, ৩০ সেপ্টেম্বর, ২০১৯

Sports Desk | Mon,30 September 2019:
A 91-minute goal by medio Ravi Bahadur Rana enabled India to clinch their maiden title in the SAFF U-18 Championship shocking last time runners-up Bangladesh by 2-1 in nerve shattering final at APF Stadium in Kathmandu Sunday.

This was the 2nd victory for India in their 3rd meeting in the SAFF U-18 Championship against Bangladesh.

Bangladesh were eliminated from the semifinal of the SAFF U-18 Championship’2015 after conceding a 3-4 goals defeat against India in the penalty shootout in Nepal but two years later Bangladesh crushed them by 4-3 goals in the group match of SAFF U-18 Championship’2017 in Bhutan.

In the day’s 3rd place deciding match, the Maldives finished 3rd in the five team SAFF Youth meet beating Bhutan by 1-0 goal at ANFA Complex in Kathmandu Sunday morning.

In the day’s rough and tough final, Vikram Singh put India twinkling of an eye in the very 2nd minute of the match by a close range right footed placing shot inside from the box, utilizing a header of forward Gurkirat Singh, off a long distance pass from defender Moriangthem Thoiba Singh (1-0).

After getting an early blow, Bangladeshi booters continued their attacking football and took its fruit in the 40th minute when their captain Yeasin Arafat equalized the margin, also by a left footed close range shot from the danger zone (1-1).

But the joy turned into grief within a minute while referee sent off captain Yeasin Arafat for his offensive celebration of scoring the goal.

Despite producing some good chances, India failed to break the deadlock as all of their attempts went in vain due good defense by Bangladesh.

In the 2nd half, 10-man Indian team continued their domination over 9-man Bangladesh team.

India finally broke the deadlock in the stoppage time to rescue India when midfielder Ravi Bahadur Rana scored the match-winner in the 91st minute by a long distance shot over Bangladesh custodian (2-1).

In the day’s rough and tough match, match referee had to show three red card and eight yellow cards.

The game saw two red cards in the 1st half — Gurkirat Singh of India and Foysal Ahmed Fahim of Bangladesh.

Both the Bangladesh and India teams were reduced to 10-man in the 23rd minute of the match as Gurkirat and Fahim of Bangladesh got marching after receiving red cards.

Bangladesh again reduced to nine-man in the 40th minute their captain Yeasin Arafat received red card for protesting a referee decision.

Bangladesh secured their a place in the final of SAFF Under-18 Championship 2019 crushing Bhutan by 4-0 goals in the first semifinal while India defeated Maldives also by 4-0 goals to book a seat for the final on Friday at APF Stadium in Kathmandu.

On the way to the final, last times runners-up Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka by 3-0 goals in their first Group B match land played to a goalless draw against India in the 2nd and last group match.

On the other hand, India outplayed all-losers Sri Lanka by 3-0 goals in their 2nd group match after playing goalless draw with Bangladesh.

Besides, the game saw getting total eight yellow cards — Kazi Rahad Mia, Fahim Morshed, Sadekuzaman and Md Tanbir Hosaian of Bangladesh and Vikram Singh, Prabhdukhan Gill, Niraj Kumar and Narender of India.

India: Lalbiakhlua Jongte, Jitendra Singh, Narender, Vikram Singh, Muhammed Rafi (Manvir Singh-73rd), Gurkirat Singh, Ricky Shabong, Ravi Bahadur Rana, Moriangthem Thoiba Singh, Ninthoinganba Meetei Khumanthe (Tankadhar Bag-93rd), Jeakson Singh Thounaojam (Givson Singh- 61st).

Bangladesh team: Shanto Kumer Ray, Sadekujaman Fahim, Yeasin Arafat, Tanbir Hossain, Kazi Rahad Mia, Maraz Hossain, Amir Hakim Bappi (Dipok Roy-85th) Md Jamir Uddin, Foysal Ahmed Fahim, Md Hridoy and Fahim Morshed. Source: UNB

আরো সংবাদ পড়ুন
© All rights reserved &copy | 2016 dhaka24.net
Theme Customized BY WooHostBD