1. shahinit.mail@gmail.com : dhaka24 : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
  2. arifturag@gmail.com : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
  3. sasujan83@gmail.com : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
  4. mdjihadcfm@gmail.com : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর : ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
শনিবার, ১৭ এপ্রিল ২০২১, ১০:৪৮ অপরাহ্ন

Malaysia relaxes entry restrictions

ঢাকা টোয়েন্টিফোর
  • প্রকাশিত | শুক্রবার, ১১ সেপ্টেম্বর, ২০২০

International Desk:
After banning the entry of citizens from 23 countries regardless of visa status into Malaysia from 7 September onwards, the government has decided to relax the restrictions for expatriates and professional visit pass-holders following criticisms from employer groups.

To curb the spread of Covid-19, Malaysia had announced that people coming from countries with more than 150,000 cases would be blocked from entering, reports The Straits Times.

The enforced entry ban includes those coming in from the United States, Britain, India, and Indonesia.

All foreign tourists were banned from entry since March.

A special cabinet committee has decided to slightly relax the regulation that was enforced from Monday.

But these expatriates and professional visit pass-holders must first “obtain approval from the [Malaysian] Immigration Department before they can enter the country,” he said.

“Their application must be accompanied by a supporting letter from the Malaysian Investment Development Authority or related agencies,” he said.

Employers had complained that the government should continue to allow ex-pats and professional pass-holders to come in as their technical skills are needed to help the economy.

In another reversal of the ban that started on Monday, Datuk Seri Ismail said the government has also decided to allow permanent residents, as well as foreign spouses of Malaysian citizens, to enter Malaysia from these 23 countries with high infection rates.

But this group can make only a one-way journey into Malaysia and remain in the country.

Student pass-holders from the affected countries will also be allowed into Malaysia.

“All categories mentioned must get approval from Immigration beforehand,” he said.

The 23 countries are the US, Brazil, India, Russia, Peru, Columbia, South Africa, Mexico, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Iran, Bangladesh, United Kingdom, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, France, Turkey, Italy, Germany, Iraq, the Philippines, and Indonesia.


আরো সংবাদ পড়ুন

© All rights reserved &copy | 2016 dhaka24.net
Theme Customized BY WooHostBD